Home / Featured Post / Saint Lucia to host XXII Annual Goodwill Swim Meet in August 2016

Saint Lucia to host XXII Annual Goodwill Swim Meet in August 2016


St Lucia wins 3 Medals at the XXI Caribbean Islands Swimming Championship (CISC) in the Bahamas

Seven St Lucian swimmers participated in the recently held XXI Caribbean Islands Swimming Championship (CISC) in the Bahamas from June 27th to July 02nd 2016. The team comprised Jordan Augier – Sportsman of the year 2015,Runako Daniel, Jn Luc Zephir, Jyasi Daniel, Allandre Cross, Mikali Charlemagne and Katie Kyle. The team was accompanied by Team Manager Constance Rene, Coach – Jaime Peterkin and FINA Referee – Hilroy Emanus who officiated at the swim meet.

Seventeen countries participated in theCISC Swim Meet which is held every two years. The larger Caribbean Islands fielded teams with as many as 50 competitors which allowed them to easily dominate the medal ranking. Host country Bahamas won the swim meet amassing a total of 78 medals closely followed by Puerto Rico with 71 medals and Trinidad and Tobago in third place with 59 medals

Jordan Augier won a silver medal in the 50 m backstroke swimming a time of 29.23 seconds and a bronze medal in 100m freestyle clocking a time of 50.82 seconds. Katie Kyle tied for third place with Gabriela Donahue of Trinidad & Tobago in a truly nail-biting final for the 50m fly, to take home a bronze medal in a time of 29.23 seconds. Katie missed a podium finish in the 100 M butterfly, when she touched the pads two hundredth of a second after the third-placed competitor.The other team members did not earn medals but they all enhanced their overall performances in the majority of their events.

SLASA wishes to thank the St Lucia Olympic Committee Inc., The National Lotteries Authority and Real Foods Limited (KFC) as well as its members whose sponsorship made St Lucia’s participation possible at the XX1 CISC Swim Meet.

Check Also

Choiseul Credit Union 40 Over Cricket Semi Finals

The finals of the Choiseul Credit Union sponsored 40 over cricket competition will feature a …

Leave a Reply

Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com